Hypertext Project Blog 1 Learning C.R.A.P: Building a Class Website

Hypertext Project Blog 1      

Learning C.R.A.P: Building a Class Website

I will be creating a class website for my hypertext project. My goal is for it to be clean and functional, but also “approachable.” My audience is undergraduate writing students learning about multimedia text construction, so I want to model the C.R.A.P. principles from the very start. I’ll begin right now by incorporating what I learned from watching the C.R.A.P. links into my Hypertext Project blogs. Hopefully, my audience (in this case, you) will notice that my font choice for this blog is my first step to mimic the modeling process I hope to project on my site.

I know that there will be a broad range of technological expertise in my proposed audience; therefore, it’s important that my website feels approachable and inclusive. I would like to accomplish this while projecting my own personal style which I see as naturalistic as well as minimalist. These possibly diverse goals may be a challenge to blend.

For simplicity’s sake, I plan on using a two-column layout with high contrast in calming colors, maybe gold and blue. I would like to find a representative image that connects nature and technology; an image of someone using a laptop in a tree would be cool (and approachable). Has anyone noticed a change in Compfight? Every Creative Commons  search I did turned up zero images. I never had this problem until recently. I may try some different image search sites if I keep turning up empty-handed.

Posted on April 6, 2012, in ENGL 539 and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a comment